Shinkansen Lines (High Speed Rail)

Shinkansen Lines (High Speed Rail)

The five Shinkansen lines - the Hokkaido Shinkansen, the Tohoku Shinkansen (north from Morioka), the Hokuriku Shinkansen, and the Kyushu Shinkansen Kagoshima route and the Kyushu Shinkansen Nishi-Kyushu route - are designated as priority lines to be constructed in the Development Program drafted in 1973 based on the Nationwide Shinkansen Railway Development Act.
Since the start of construction, the Hokuriku Shinkansen from Takasaki to Karuizawa in 1989, JRTT has completed a total of 929 km of Shinkansen lines to date, including the sections from Shin-Aomori to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto on the Hokkaido Shinkansen, from Takasaki to Kanazawa on the Hokuriku Shinkansen, from Morioka to Shin-Aomori on the Tohoku Shinkansen, and from Hakata to Kagoshima-Chuo on the Kyushu Shinkansen. After the completion, JRTT leases them to JR companies which operate the lines and provide service to passengers.


Kyushu Shinkansen

The Kyushu Shinkansen consists of two lines: the 257 km section between Hakata and Kagoshima-Chuo, and the 117 km section between Shin-Tosu and Nagasaki.
The section between Shin-Yatsushiro and Kagoshima-Chuo opened in March 2004, and the remaining section between Hakata and Shin-Yatsushiro Stations opened in March 2011.
JRTT began construction on the section between Takeo-Onsen and Isahaya in March 2008, and the section between Isahaya and Nagasaki in June 2012.


Hokuriku Shinkansen

The Hokuriku Shinkansen connects Takasaki and Osaka totaling approximately 600 km in length.
The section between Takasaki and Nagano opened in October 1997, and the section between Nagano and Kanazawa opened in March 2015.
We began construction on the section between Kanazawa and Tsuruga in June 2012. Between Tsuruga and Shin-Osaka, we are conducting Environmental Impact Assessment and other studies.

Tohoku/Hokkaido Shinkansen

The Tohoku Shinkansen was completed when the remaining section between Hachinohe and Shin-Aomori opened in December 2010 to form a 675 km connection from Tokyo to Shin-Aomori.
The Hokkaido Shinkansen spans some 360 km from Shin-Aomori to Sapporo. The 149 km section between Shin-Aomori and Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto opened in March 2016.
We began construction on the 211 km section between Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto and Sapporo in June 2012.
The whole Tohoku Shinkansen line was completed when the section between Aomori and Hachinohe was completed. The 675-km Tohoku Shinkansen line from Tokyo to Shin-Aomori was completed when the section between Hachinohe to Shin-Aomori was opened in 2010.